Florida Concealed Carry Law Blog

Follow Us for News, Tips , Tricks, Guns Gear and Real Life Stories

blog image

How to Get a Florida Concealed Carry Permit

January 01, 20204 min read

How to Get a Florida Concealed Carry Permit

What’s Up Sheepdogs? Ryan here with Tampa Carry.

Getting your Florida Concealed Weapons Permit is a fairly simple process. The State of Florida is called a shall Issue State, this means that Florida has to issue you a Florida Concealed Weapons permit as long as you meet the following basic qualifications. Pretty cool, right?

Requirements to Get a Concealed Weapons License In Florida

You must complete a firearm safety course taught by an NRA certified instructor.

During this course you must discharge at least one round using a real gun and demonstrate that you can safely handle a firearm. Upon completion of your course you will receive a certificate of training that must be provided to the State of Florida along with your application.

**Be careful of companies offer a concealed carry class in a Hotels.

In the last few years these companies have been popping everywhere. Clearly they are NOT following state guidelines and are not certifying you legally per the state of Florida guidelines.

Who is a Prohibited From Getting a Florida Concealed Carry License?

1. You must be at least 21 years old or if you're in the military or veteran discharged under honorable conditions you can be any age. 

2. You don't suffer from any physical infirmity which prevents the safe handling of a firearm

3. You're not a convicted felon

4. For the 3 years preceding the date of your application for the permit.

5. You have not been committed for drug abuse.

6. You have not been found guilty of any drug crime.

7. Convicted of DUI two or more times.

8. You have not had a withheld adjudication on any crime of violence constituting a misdemeanor.

9. You are not a chronic or habitual user of alcohol.

10. Committed for alcohol treatment pursuant to Chapter 396 of Florida Statutes.

11. We're convicted of using a firearm while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance

12. You have been deemed a habitual offender of the disorderly intoxication laws by 3 convictions within 12 months you are prohibited to apply for 3 years.

13. You have not been adjudicated an incapacitated person under F.S. 744.331, or have waited five years after such incapacity was removed by court order.

14. You have not been committed to a mental institution.

15. You have not been convicted or withheld adjudication on any felony.

16. You have not been convicted or withheld adjudication on any misdemeanor crime of domestic violence. Adjudication Withheld on ANY FELONY.  If you have had Adjudication of guilt withheld or imposition of sentence suspended on any felony, you are not eligible for a Florida concealed weapons permit unless three years have elapsed since the probation or any other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled (or the record has been expunged)
17. There is no injunction currently in force that restrains you from committing either repeat or domestic violence.

18. You are not prohibited from purchase or possession of a firearm by Florida or Federal Law.

19. Plead guilty instead of no contest to any felony, or to any misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.

20. If you have a criminal indictment or information for a felony pending against you.

21. If, while your application is pending, you have been arrested for any “dangerous crimes” (Learn More).

22. You must be a US Citizen or have a Green Card.

That's it.

Its pretty easy to get your Concealed Weapons permit in Florida. We make the process very easy for our students to get certified same day. Just follow 3 easy steps.

 florida concealed carry permit online

The first step, is to watch our FREE Florida Concealed Carry Masterclass™ Online and then you will know exactly what to do next.

Once you complete the live fire appointment you will have to submit your application to the State of Florida (we can help you with that at your class) and wait for your permit to arrive in the mail which is typically 10-14 days.

You can get started with getting your Florida Concealed Weapons Permit today by watching our concealed carry class video right now for free >>

That's all I have for today. So until next time keep training and stay safe...

Ryan G. Thomas

how to get your florida concealed carry permitconcealed carry class onlineConcealed carry class online florida
blog author image

Ryan G. Thomas

Ryan believes a trained and aware citizen is the best way to minimize crime, victims and senseless acts of violence. Ryan is a veteran of the United States Air Force and a father of three beautiful children. Ryan and his wife Tiffany met while doing inner city ministry for Operation Explosion in Tampa 12 years ago. He is passionate about God, his family, and his community. Ryan has a passion for the 2nd amendment and believes all Americans should have the right and ability to protect themselves and their families.

Back to Blog

Don't Miss a Thing!

Get Notified When We Post a New Article

Most Popular Concealed Carry Articles

Ryan holding money private gun sale

Florida Private Gun Sales Rules

ryan thumbs down denied florida concealed weapons permit

Am I Eligible For A Florida Concealed Carry Permit?

Get FREE Access To The Florida Concealed Carry Masterclass™
Join over 60,000 Floridians Who Chose Tampa Carry To Get Their Florida Concealed Carry Permit

All rights Reserved. Copyright 2024 Tampa Carry

Privacy Policy | Refund Policy